Now making this flower is quite easy and you can see if you look at the side here, this flower is actually made of a lot of different layers of regular circles. And I started out with a circle like this, I cut out the edges and have them melted, that's why the flower petals go up, and they become dimensional once you melt them. When I made this flower here, I have five different sizes of circles here, ranging from 7 in. to 6 in. , five inches, four and a half inches and 3 in. , the smaller the circle is, the more difficult is to melt without burning it or burning your fingers. So I wouldn't go to too much smaller, but if you want to experience with it, I hope you will be comfortable with it.

And each of this is made up of actually three circles of the same size, I will talk about that when I come to this part. Let's talk about these circles first, this is my 7 in. circle,, you can see it is not perfect, I basically used mine circle template as a guide.I love this wedding dress. And what you are going to do is to have your circles here,  then you are going to cut out the petals. Now I have found that I like a petal that is about 2 in. for the big one, and for the little flowers about one inch at the widest edge. This is about 2 in. here when I'm cutting, and I will cut all a way round, and of course I am leaving a nice center here, I don't want to cut all the way through because then my flowers will not sit together.

That is so nice of this project because you don't need to measure too much. Now you can see that I've got my flowers cut into petals, then I'm going to bring my flame in and of course my water is right here next to me, so it will be very safe. I'm going to take one petal that I'm going to melt, just one petal at a time so that you can get more control. And what I will do is to pinch the petal in the center, so that you can see the curve is going the way that I want my flower to curve, so like this curve it will go up this way and it will burn in the same way. You can also have experiment with that, and I'm just putting it close to the flame, but not too close because I don't want it to catch the fire just melting. And you can see it's now melted.

I will do this with each petal and I will do a couple of petals for you, now I'm going to do another one , you must be patient when doing this, or you may burn your fingers. Once again, pinching and melting. And I am probably about 2 in. from the flame as I melt, and also be careful when you're melting because you don't have to touch the edges that have melted right away, it cools down within a few seconds, if you touch it right away you will burn your fingers. Now you can see the difference between the petals that have melted and those that have not, you can see they're adding dimension, and how cool it is! Ok! I have just finished melting my curves, and because I pinched each of the petals the same way, each of the petals curves in the same way after it was melted. Now let's get to the part 3.




Leave a Reply.